jump to navigation

Diary of an adventure game amateur – a prologue July 29, 2009

Posted by Chris McKenna in Adventure, Adventure Game Amateur, Copy+Paste Original, PC.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

How awesome were the 90s? This awesome.

How awesome were the '90s? This awesome.

As a child of the ’90s, I was exposed to a lot of great things: the hayday of Nickelodeon cartoons, Transformers: Beast Wars, and the wild rush of the Furby, Pokemon, and rollerblading fads.

But, one thing that I wasn’t exposed to was the pleasures of the classic adventure game. I’ve never played a Monkey Island or King’s Quest game, I’ve never indulged in Day of The Tentacle or Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis. All of these things were sadly out of my grasp.

The thrill of solving puzzles, the rush one gets when combining one random item with another, the biting wit that apparently permeates throughout the genre – all a mystery to me.

The closest thing to adventure games that I played as a child were the previously-discussed Titanic: Adventure Out of Time and the line of children’s puzzle games, like Freddi the Fish, Pajama Sam, or Spy Fox put out by Humongous Entertainment.

Other than that, I’m a stranger to the genre – an adventure game amateur.

But what is an adventure game, you’re asking. I’ll let Marek Bronstring of adventuregamers.com, an undoubtedly more credible source, give you an idea:

Adventure games are about stories, exploring worlds and solving puzzles. Play as Ray McCoy on assignment to track down replicants in Blade Runner the game. Or embark on a four-year journey through the mystical Land Of The Dead in the Mexican folk art and film noir inspired Grim Fandango. The game Bad Mojo even lets you play as a scientist trapped in the body of a cockroach. When you’re playing an adventure game, you never quite know what you’re going to get. Detectives, comedies, westerns, mysteries, horror, noir or sci-fi; there’s an adventure game for everyone.

My problem, thanks to the vast power of the Internet and the thousands of games available on clients like Steam, is an easily fixable one.

So, starting today and continuing on in the following days, weeks, or months, I’ll be playing through these classic adventure games, offering my perspective as a total outsider.

I hope that through these series of articles I can help to expose a new generation to this neglected genre and as I puzzle and ponder my way through these games, you’ll be able to learn as I learn.

So come along, dear reader, on an adventure through adventures! (I’m sorry about that last part. I couldn’t resist.)

Comments»

1. N64Freak - July 30, 2009

First! Good luck, I hope you enjoy them instead of these cookie-cutter First-Person Shooters. Need any recommendations? Just email.

Chris McKenna - July 30, 2009

Thanks,I might have to take you up on that, actually.

2. Gareth BK - July 30, 2009

Make sure you play LOOM, it’s an old school LucasArts game with a really unique puzzle solving system based around musical notes. I think it’s on Steam for like $5. I used to have it on those giant floppy disks in the early 90’s, fun stuff.

3. N64Freak - July 31, 2009

Banjo-Kazooie and Sam & Max aren’t bad picks.


Leave a Reply

